雅芳报告“网络事件”后,客户的网络安全受到威胁

Avon Data Breach

在发生网络攻击之后,目标公司需要迅速披露尽可能多的详细信息。它需要说明它遭受了什么样的攻击,谁可能受到影响以及对单个用户可能造成的后果。由于目前尚不清楚的原因,国际化妆品零售商雅芳似乎正为此苦苦挣扎。

6月9日,该公司在美国证券交易委员会(SEC)上发布了8-K表格 ,该表格解释说雅芳遭受了文件所称的“信息技术环境中的网络事件”。该零售商表示,其部分业务受到了影响,但坚称仍不能完全确定攻击的规模。三天后,雅芳又提交了8K文件,其中包含“网络事件”的最新消息。据它说,该公司正在重新启动一些受攻击的系统,并且仍在确定到底发生了什么的过程。它第一次提到某些个人数据可能已经遭到破坏,尽管很快指出人们的信用卡信息不太可能受到影响。

这仅是对公司发布的官方信息的总结,您必须同意它留下了很多未解决的问题。人们一直在试图回答他们。

客户和安全研究人员想知道发生了什么事

可以肯定的一件事是,攻击非常严重。即便是现在,在首次提交8K申请后一个多星期,雅芳遍布全球的多家分支机构的网站都关闭了。在某些情况下,用户会看到一则消息,告诉他们该网站正在大修中,而其他人只是说目前不可用。

SEC的文件中没有披露攻击的确切性质,这引起了很多猜测。例如,在一月份,一家名为Natura&Co.的巴西公司购买了雅芳的多数股权。 5月,大约25万名Natura的客户受到了一次重大数据泄漏的影响,并且可以预见的是,人们现在正在怀疑这两个事件是否可能相互关联。同时,一个大型勒索软件家族的运营商声称对此次攻击负责。

DoppelPaymer:我们攻击了Avon

DoppelPaymer勒索软件已经存在了一段时间,并且它参与了针对大型组织和企业的许多重大攻击。去年,它与其他一些主要的勒索软件威胁一起,给他们的业务增加了危险的转折。

通常,勒索软件攻击的唯一目标是加密受害者的文件并勒索他们以勒索赎金。然而,在2019年,DoppelPaymer,Maze和其他一些勒索软件背后的运营商开始在窃取数据之前先窃取数据。这样,当目标公司拒绝支付解密器的费用时,骗子可能会威胁将窃取的信息泄露给全世界。如果被盗的数据很敏感,并且受害者仍然不愿意付款,骗子也可以在暗网上出售这些数据。

DoppelPaymer的运营商建立了一个特殊的网站,在该网站上,他们首先发布受害者的姓名,然后在拒绝屈服勒索时泄漏敏感数据。恰当地命名为Doppel Leaks的公司自2月份开始运营,据一家名为Niebezpiecznik的波兰渗透测试公司称,雅芳的名字最近出现在上面。但这真的意味着雅芳被DoppelPaymer打中了吗?

证据肯定指向了勒索软件攻击。一些系统脱机但仍未还原的事实表明,其中的数据可能会被打乱。如您所见,这不仅仅与加密数据有关。属于雅芳,其员工和客户的敏感信息随时可能泄露,人们应该注意可能引起的任何潜在攻击。

正如Sophos的Paul Ducklin 所说 ,即使是Avon可能也无法完全意识到此时到底发生了什么,但是它必须努力尽快找出并向公众报告事实。这是人们知道自己所面临的风险的唯一途径。

June 18, 2020

发表评论

Customers' Cybersecurity Under Threat After Avon Reports a 'Cyber Incident'

Avon Data Breach

In the aftermath of a cyberattack, the targeted company needs to quickly disclose as many details as possible. It needs to explain what sort of attack it's been through, who might be affected, and what the consequences for individual users could be. For reasons that remain unclear for now, international cosmetics retailer Avon appears to be struggling with this.

On June 9, the company published an 8-K form with the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), which explained that Avon had suffered what the filing called "a cyber incident in its Information Technology environment." The retailer said that some of its operations were affected but was adamant that it was still not entirely sure how big the attack had been. Three days later, Avon filed another 8-K filing with an update on the "cyber incident." According to it, the company was restarting some of the attacked systems and was still in the process of determining what had happened exactly. For the first time, it mentioned that some personal data might have been compromised, though it was quick to point out that people's credit card details are unlikely to be affected.

This just about sums up the official information that has come out of the company, and you have to agree that it leaves quite a few open questions. People have been trying to answer them.

Customers and security researchers are wondering what's going on

One thing that is certain is that the attack was pretty serious. Even now, more than a week after the first 8-K filing, the websites of a number of Avon's branches all around the world are down. In some cases, users see a message telling them that the website is being overhauled while others simply say that it's not available at the moment.

The exact nature of the attack was not disclosed in the SEC filings, which has led to a lot of speculation. In January, for example, a Brazilian company by the name of Natura & Co. bought a majority stake in Avon. In May, about 250 thousand of Natura's customers were affected by a major data leak, and predictably, people are now wondering whether the two incidents might be connected. Meanwhile, the operators of a major ransomware family have claimed responsibility for the attack.

DoppelPaymer: We attacked Avon

The DoppelPaymer ransomware has been around for a while now, and it has been involved in quite a few major attacks against large organizations and businesses. Last year, it, along with a few other major ransomware threats, added a sinister twist to their operations.

Usually, the ransomware attack's only goal is to encrypt the victim's files and blackmail them for a ransom. In 2019, however, the operators behind DoppelPaymer, Maze, and a couple of other ransomware strains started stealing data before scrambling it. That way, when the targeted company refuses to pay for a decryptor, the crooks can threaten to leak the pilfered information to the whole world. If the stolen data is sensitive, and the victim is still not willing to pay up, the crooks can also sell it on the dark web.

DoppelPaymer's operators set up a special website where they first publish the names of their victims and then leak sensitive data if they refuse to give in to the extortion. The aptly named Doppel Leaks has been operating since February, and according to a Polish penetration testing company called Niebezpiecznik, Avon's name recently appeared on it. But does that really mean that Avon was hit by DoppelPaymer?

The evidence certainly points to a ransomware attack. The fact that some of the systems went offline and are still not restored suggests that the data in them might be scrambled. As you can see, however, this is not just about encrypted data. Sensitive information that belongs to Avon, its employees, and its customers could be leaked at any time, and people should be on the lookout for any potential attacks that could result from this.

As Sophos' Paul Ducklin said, even Avon might not be completely aware of what happened exactly at this point, but it must work to find out as quickly as possible and report the facts to the public. That's the only way people can know what sort of risk they're faced with.

June 18, 2020

Leave a Reply