針對烏克蘭網絡的 CaddyWiper 惡意軟件

wiper malware

俄羅斯網絡犯罪分子繼續針對烏克蘭的系統和網絡釋放新的惡意軟件。由於當前衝突的性質,他們並不專注於監視受害者或竊取信息。相反,他們使用的是破壞性威脅,例如 CaddyWiper 惡意軟件。雖然與HermeticWiperIsaacWiper相比,它的功能相同,但它似乎不是這兩者之一的衍生產品。相反,它是一種獨特的植入物,它執行旨在徹底破壞系統的破壞性攻擊。

重要的是要補充一點,受到 CaddyWiper 惡意軟件攻擊的網絡可能已經被破壞了很長時間。上面提到的另外兩個雨刷的情況也一樣。網絡犯罪分子很可能已經訪問了該系統很長時間,並且他們正在等待適當的時間來部署惡意軟件。

CaddyWiper 惡意軟件旨在從各種文件夾中刪除文件,但它不會像我們提到的其他兩個威脅那樣清除 MBR。 CaddyWiper 惡意軟件的一個有趣的怪癖是它跳過與域控制器相關的加密數據這一事實。此行動的目的是確保犯罪分子仍然可以訪問網絡中的其他系統——如果域控制器數據被刪除,這將是不可能的。

俄羅斯對烏克蘭人的網絡攻擊肯定遠未結束。負責他們的黑客早在部署惡意軟件之前就可以訪問受感染的系統這一事實可能意味著他們過去曾在雷達下進行過其他攻擊

March 16, 2022

CaddyWiper Malware Unleashed against Ukrainian Networks

wiper malware

Russian cybercriminals continue to unleash new malware against Ukrainian systems and networks. Due to the nature of the current conflict, they are not focused on spying on their victims or stealing information. Instead, they are using destructive threats, such as the CaddyWiper Malware. While it is identical in functionality compared to HermeticWiper and IsaacWiper, it does not appear to be a spin-off of one of those two. Instead, it is a unique implant, which carries out a destructive attack meant to break systems down completely.

It's important to add that neither the networks, which were attacked by the CaddyWiper Malware have probably been compromised for a long time. The situation was the same with the other two wipers mentioned above. It is likely that the cybercriminals have had access to the system for a long time, and they were waiting for the right time to deploy the malicious software.

The CaddyWiper Malware aims to delete files from various folders, but it does not wipe out the MBR like the other two threats we mentioned. An interesting quirk of CaddyWiper Malware is the fact that it skips encrypting data related to domain controllers. The goal of this action is to ensure that the criminals will still have access to other systems across the network – if the domain controller data was deleted, this would be impossible.

The Russian cyberattacks against Ukrainians are certainly far from over. The fact that the hackers responsible for them have had access to the compromised systems long before deploying the malware is likely to mean that they have carried out other, under the radar attacks in the past

March 15, 2022