数十亿泄露的电话号码与旧的 Facebook 泄露相结合

从社交媒体平台 Clubhouse 泄露了 38 亿条包含用户电话号码的记录。数据,最初被拿到数据集的黑客认为不是特别有价值的数据,被免费放在网上,发布在一个暗网论坛上。事实上,这种孤立的数据并不是很有价值,只有当它存在于真空中时才有价值。然而,这种情况很快发生了变化。

在黑客论坛上最初的数据转储之后,另一位勤奋的黑客开始工作,并开始将 Clubhouse 数据泄漏的电话号码与 2021 年初发生的另一次大规模泄漏的数据配对。

早在 4 月份,Facebook 就泄露了超过 50 亿用户帐户的帐户数据。坏人开始将这些旧数据与新的 Clubhouse 泄漏进行匹配,突然间,组合数据集开始看起来更具吸引力。

即使孤立的数据本身价值不大,但当与更相关的信息结合时,它会形成新的数据集,这些数据集可以被视为个人身份信息,并且可以被威胁行为者以多种方式利用。

安全专家警告说,与孤立的数据泄漏相比,新组合的数据可以通过多种不同的方式被利用,并且是威胁参与者手中更危险的工具。

当足够的数据汇集在一起时,它可以用于帐户接管攻击以及短信诈骗 - 网络钓鱼电子邮件的 SMS 版本。成功接管的帐户可以清除任何具有财务价值的物品,例如优惠券和礼品卡。

除了小偷小摸之外,不良行为者还可以利用受损的帐户并利用这种访问权限甚至在该个人工作的公司中获得潜在的立足点。

尽管电话专用数据转储是免费发布在黑客论坛上的,但新合并的数据与 Facebook 泄漏记录相结合,现在可以以 100,000 美元的高价出售。花时间匹配手机和 Facebook 记录的黑客也在以更平易近人的价格出售 38 亿条记录中的一小部分。

September 28, 2021

Billions of Leaked Phone Numbers Combined with Old Facebook Leak

A staggering 3.8 billion records containing user telephone numbers leaked from social media platform Clubhouse. The data, originally not considered particularly valuable by the hacker who got their hands on the data set, was put up online for free, published on a dark web forum. Indeed, isolated data of this kind is not very valuable but only when it exists in a vacuum. This situation, however, changed quickly.

After the initial data dump on the hacking forum, another industrious hacker got to work and started pairing the telephone numbers from the Clubhouse data leak with data from another massive leak that took place earlier in 2021.

Back in April, Facebook leaked account data from just over half a billion user accounts. The bad actor started matching this older data with the new Clubhouse leak and suddenly, the combined data set started looking a lot more appealing.

Even if isolated data is not worth too much on its own, when combined with more pertinent information, it forms new data sets that can be considered personally identifiable information and those can be exploited in a number of ways by threat actors.

Security experts warn that the newly combined data is exploitable in a number of different ways and is a much more dangerous tool in the hands of threat actors when compared to isolated data leaks.

When enough data is pooled together, it can be used for both account takeover attacks, as well as smishing - the SMS version of phishing emails. Accounts that are successfully taken over can be cleared of any financially valuable items, such as coupons and gift cards.

Apart from petty thieving, bad actors could also exploit compromised accounts and use this access to even gain a potential foothold in the company where that individual works.

Even though the phone-only data dump was published on the hacking forum for free, the newly combined data, paired with the Facebook leak records, is now up for grabs for a hefty $100,000. The hacker who took the time to match phones and Facebook records is also selling smaller parcels of the 3.8 billion records at more approachable prices.

September 28, 2021