以下是您需要了解的有关DataSpii以及可能泄漏有关您的信息的8个扩展

DataSpii Data Leak

我们对浏览器的关注度几乎没有。网络浏览器是我们进入在线世界的门户,而且往往在没有它的情况下开始我们的日常生活是不可能的。但是,由于它是我们在线存在的一个不可分割的部分,它通常也是黑客窃取信息或造成伤害的首选攻击媒介。我们倾向于忘记这一点。

由于各种不同的原因,许多人继续使用过时的浏览器,使他们容易受到攻击。然而,即使是那些自动更新的人,仍然会无意中将自己置于危险之中。我们在浏览器上安装的扩展程序也可用于恶意目的。上周,独立安全研究员Sam Jadali证明了他们有时会有多危险。

DataSpii - 大规模数据泄露

Jadali发现了八个泄漏个人和企业数据的浏览器扩展。他称之为DataSpii操作,并撰写了一份非常广泛的报告 。在我们看到它是如何工作之前,这是违规扩展的列表:

  • 悬停缩放
  • 读字!
  • SuperZoom
  • SaveFrom.net助手
  • FairShare解锁
  • PanelMeasurement
  • 品牌调查
  • 小组社区调查

上面列出的大多数扩展程序都可用于Chrome(并且可以安装在Opera上),其中一些扩展程序也适用于Firefox。如果您使用其中任何一个,请确保尽快卸载它们。

这些扩展程序在脱机之前被集体下载超过400万次,而且我们会在一分钟内发现它们泄露的数据量巨大。目前尚不清楚这些信息是否被用于任何恶劣的原因,但我们可以有把握地说,DataSpii可能造成的潜在损害是巨大的。

您的浏览历史可能比您想象的更敏感

Sam Jadali在使用营销服务时发现数据泄露,经过进一步检查后,该服务收集了大量信息。 DataSpii扩展主要是对人们的浏览历史感兴趣,这听起来不像是世界上最糟糕的事情。尽管如此,贾达利将这次泄密描述为“灾难性的”。有什么坏事呢?

根据ArsTechnica的说法 ,收集的数据被发送到一家名为Nacho Analytics的公司。任何人都可以访问Nacho Analytics,支付费用,并查看受DataSpii影响的人访问的网页类型。同样,从表面上看,您可能不会担心有人会了解您检查电子邮件的频率。看过Nacho Analytics收集的一些页面后,Jadali意识到情况要严重得多。

这些URL表明DataSpii扩展程序在人们查看极其敏感的文档时收集数据,包括账单发票,纳税申报表,车辆登记文件等。. 在某些情况下,上述文件没有得到很好的保护,这意味着他们可以将他们所包含的数据暴露给任何人。

更糟糕的是,泄漏通常会影响那些甚至没有安装其中一个扩展的人。例如,即使您始终使用没有插件的开箱即用浏览器,如果您的会计师安装了其中一个DataSpii扩展程序,您的OneDrive托管的纳税申报单可能会面临风险。以类似的方式,DataSpii扩展可能泄漏旅行安排,商业文件和医疗数据。用户的个人详细信息有时会包含在URL本身中,尽管大多数扩展都试图清理数据,但在许多情况下,他们并没有做得很好。不过,除此之外还有更多。

Jadali发现,由于DataSpii扩展,Nacho Analytics也收集了大量的企业数据。近50家财富500强企业的员工在与雇主的内部资源互动时一直在使用DataSpii扩展。因此,特斯拉,Blue Origin,NBCdigital,BuzzFeed,Reddit,TMobile,趋势科技,FireEye等公司的部分后端基础设施得以透露。由于扩展程序还收集了网页的名称,因此查看数据的人员可以很好地了解受影响的员工所看到的内容。

在他被发现后不久,贾达利开始通知所有负责延期的人。他们从浏览器的官方市场中消失了,Nacho Analytics 宣布它正在停止新的销售,因为他们的数据合作伙伴已经结束了其运营。即便如此,Jadali注意到一些DataSpii扩展仍在发送信息。即使是现在,卸载它们也非常重要。同样要注意将来放在浏览器上的插件。

August 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 5是什么?

Here's All You Need to Know About DataSpii and the 8 Extensions That Could Leak Information About You

DataSpii Data Leak

We don't pay nearly as much attention as we should to our browsers. A web browser is our gateway to the online world, and often, going about our everyday lives without it is impossible. Because it's such an inseparable part of our online existence, however, it's also often the attack vector of choice for hackers who are out to steal information or do harm. We tend to forget about this.

For a variety of different reasons, many people continue to use outdated browsers which leave them vulnerable to attacks. Even those who have their automatic updates turned on, however, can still inadvertently put themselves at risk. The extensions we install on our browsers can also be used for nefarious purposes. Last week, independent security researcher Sam Jadali proved just how dangerous they can be sometimes.

DataSpii – a large-scale data leak

Jadali found eight browser extensions that were leaking personal and corporate data. He called the operation DataSpii, and he wrote a very extensive report on it. Before we see how it worked, here's the list of offending extensions:

  • Hover Zoom
  • SpeakIt!
  • SuperZoom
  • SaveFrom.net Helper
  • FairShare Unlock
  • PanelMeasurement
  • Branded Surveys
  • Panel Community Surveys

Most of the extensions listed above were available for Chrome (and could be installed on Opera), with some having versions for Firefox as well. If you use any of them, make sure you uninstall them as quickly as possible.

The extensions were collectively downloaded more than 4 million times before they were taken offline, and as we'll find out in a minute, the amount of data they leaked was enormous. It's still unknown whether or not the information has been used for any nefarious reasons, but we can safely say that the potential damage DataSpii could have caused was significant.

Your browsing history may be more sensitive than you think

Sam Jadali found the data leak when he was using a marketing service which, upon further inspection, turned out to collect quite a lot of information. The DataSpii extensions were mostly interested in people's browsing history, which doesn't sound like the worst thing in the world. Despite this, Jadali described the leak as "catastrophic". What was so bad about it?

According to ArsTechnica, the collected data was sent to a company called Nacho Analytics. Anyone could go to Nacho Analytics, pay a fee, and have a look at what sort of web pages the people affected by DataSpii were visiting. Again, on the face of it, you might not be worried about the fact that someone will learn how often you check your email. Having seen some of the pages Nacho Analytics was collecting, however, Jadali realized that the situation was much more serious.

The URLs indicated that the DataSpii extensions were collecting data while people were viewing extremely sensitive documents, including billing invoices, tax returns, vehicle registration papers, etc. In some cases, the said documents weren't very well protected, which meant that they could expose the data they contained to anyone.

Worse still, the leak would often affect people who didn't even have one of the extensions installed. For example, even if you've always used an out-of-the-box browser with no addons, if your accountant had one of the DataSpii extensions installed, your OneDrive-hosted tax return documents could have been put at risk. In a similar fashion, the DataSpii extensions could leak travel arrangements, business documents, and medical data. Users' personal details would sometimes be included in the URLs themselves, and although most of the extensions tried to scrub the data, in many instances, they didn't do a very good job. There was even more to it than that, though.

Jadali found out that thanks to the DataSpii extensions, Nacho Analytics had collected quite a lot of corporate data as well. Employees of nearly 50 Fortune 500 companies had been using the DataSpii extensions while interacting with their employer's internal resources. As a result, portions of the backend infrastructure of companies like Tesla, Blue Origin, NBCdigital, BuzzFeed, Reddit, TMobile, Trend Micro, FireEye, and many others were revealed. Because the extensions also collected the names of the web pages, the people viewing the data could get a pretty good understanding of what the affected employees were seeing.

Shortly after his discovery, Jadali started notifying all the people responsible for taking the extensions down. They disappeared from the browsers' official marketplaces, and Nacho Analytics announced that it's halting new sales because their data partner had ended its operations. Even so, Jadali noticed that some of the DataSpii extensions were still sending out information. Even now, uninstalling them is extremely important. The same goes for being careful with the addons you put on your browser in the future.

July 24, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 3 ?